Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seeking the right information: Access online databases

Module 2: How do I search?

 
Find the most appropriate online databases 
 
The DLSU Libraries subscribe to more than 50 online databases in various disciplines.
Before you begin your search, you need to choose a database that covers your topic, as well as the dates you need. The following questions might help you determine:

  • Is your topic general/multi-disciplinary or high specific?
  • Do you need the latest research on your topic?
  • Do you need full-text article or numerical data?

 

 Types of online databases 
 
Bibliographic Databases do not contain the articles on the screen, but they provide information as to where the article may be found, e.g. Classic Catalog, Encore OPACA-to-Z Online Journals, Scopus.

Full-text Databases contain the complete text of the articles and/or journals they index, e.g. ScienceDirect, ProQuest, PsycArticles, etc.

Multidisciplinary Databases are more general in scope and cover various disciplines or areas of study, e.g ProQuest Academic Research, Academic OneFile, EBSCO Academic Search Complete.

Subject Databases cover specific subject areas or disciplines, such as, ACM Digital Library, eSCRA, ProQuest Education Journals, SciFinder, etc.

Aggregated Databases provide access to digital full-text of periodicals published by different publishers, e.g. EBSCO, ProQuest, Academic OneFile, etc. Some of the journals in aggregated databases have embargo or delays in the availability of full-text.

Publisher Databases provide access to full-text articles published by individual publisher with no embargo, e.g. ScienceDirect, IEEE/IET Electronic Library.

Numeric Databases provide access to statistical information, e.g. Euromonitor, i-Stats, Osiris
 


The list of subscription databases of DLSU Libraries is available in the Electronic Databases page of the library website.

Subject Online databases
Philosophy, Psychology, Religion JSTOR, PsycArticles, ProQuest, Gale
Geography & Anthropology JSTOR, ProQuest, EBSCO
Economics & Sociology JSTOR, OECD, EIU, Euromonitor, Datamonitor, LexisNexis, Marketline Advantage, ProQuest, EBSCO, Gale
Political Science JSTOR, ProQuest, EBSCO, Gale
Law eSCRA, Lex Libris, LexisNexis, JSTOR, ProQuest, EBSCO, MyLegalWhiz
Education JSTOR, ProQuest, EBSCO, Gale
Music JSTOR, ProQuest, EBSCO, Gale
Fine Arts JSTOR, ProQuest, EBSCO, Gale
Language & Literature JSTOR, ProQuest, EBSCO, Gale
Science ScienceDirect, ProQuest, EBSCO, ASM, ACM Digital Library, Gale
Medicine ScienceDirect, ProQuest
Engineering & Technology ScienceDirect, ProQuest, IEEE/IET Electronic Library, Gale, EBSCO
Agriculture ProQuest, ScienceDirect
Library Science ProQuest, ScienceDirect, EBSCO

The list of eBooks databases of DLSU Libraries is available in the eBook Databases page of the library website.
 
    
       
       
 

DLSU's digitized theses 
Some of the digitized theses submitted by DLSU graduate students are accessible online via the classic catalog. To look for digitized thesis, 
  • Go to http://lib1000.dlsu.edu.ph
  • On the right side of the classic catalog, click the “Theses” link.
  • Type the keyword(s) in the search box and click the “Submit” button.
  • A list of titles containing your keyword(s) search will be displayed.
  • Click on any of the results to view the full record display.
  •  
 
Foreign digital dissertations and theses

You can download full-text theses and dissertations via the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
 
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
 
To begin your search, 
  • Go to www.dlsu.edu.ph/library
  • Click the “Electronic Databases” link on the left side of the website.
  • Online databases are arranged alphabetically.
  • Click the “Incampus” or “Offcampus” link.
 
 
 
 

EIU (The Economist Intelligence Unit) City Data is a market-leading database of global pricing information.

EIU (The Economist Intelligence Unit) Market Indicators and Forecasts is a database of global market indicators and forecasts stretching back to 1990.

EIU (The Economist Intelligence Unit) Financial Services Indicators and Forecasts provides cross-country comparable data and analysis on 60 major markets to help companies assess the market potential for financial services around the globe.

i-Stats is an online subscription service of the National Statistical Coordination Board (NCSB) for viewing and downloading datasets that covers time series economic and social indicators produced by the different government agencies in the Philippine Statistical System. 

MarketLine Advantage
provides a comprehensive and unique collection of company, industry and country information that extends across every major marketplace and industry.
 
Orbis contains comprehensive information on companies worldwide. You can use it to research individual companies, search for companies by profile and create your own analysis.
 
Osiris is a compilation of financial information on more than 70,000 listed, delisted, and unlisted companies worldwide.
 

 Searching online databases and eBooks 

 
 
There are two types of access that can be used in accessing the full text of the online materials.

1. On campus access gives access to the online resources using the computers connected to the DLSU network via cable or WiFi

  • Go to www.dlsu.edu.ph/library/
  • Click on “Electronic Databases.” A list of online databases will appear on your screen.
  • Select the most appropriate online databases.
  • Click on “InCampus

2. Off campus access gives access to currently enrolled students (except students under residency), faculty members and staff to the full text copy of the online materials of the library thru their MyLibrary accounts.

  • Go to www.dlsu.edu.ph/library/
  • Click on “Electronic Databases.” A list of online databases will appear on your screen.Select the most appropriate online databases.
  • Click on “OffCampus.
  • Enter your MyLibrary account information. Your MyLibrary account is your passport to the library's online resources. 

MyLibrary is a different account from MyLasalle, if you are not yet registered to MyLibrary.

   

EBSCO Discovery Service
 
 
EBSCOHost Basic Search
 
 
EBSCOHost AdvancedSearch
 
 
ProQuest Basic Search
 
 
 
Euromonitor Passport basic search
 
 
 
eBrary Basic Search
 
 
 
 
GVRL Complex Search
 

Licensing

Creative Commons License

This contents of the Online IamInfoSMART may be reused with attribution. Please copy the following into new works based on the IamInfoSMART. The Online IamInfoSMART bthe DLSU Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported LicenseBased on a work at guides.library.uwm.eduPot of Gold Information Literacy TutorialTutorial for Info Power