Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Assessing adolescent and adult intelligence by
Call Number: BF432.5.W4 K377 2006
Publication Date: 2006
The classic text--now updated with a new interpretive approach to the WAIS?-III Assessing Adolescent and Adult Intelligence, the classic text from Alan Kaufman and Elizabeth Lichtenberger, has consistently provided the most comprehensive source of information on cognitive assessment of adults and adolescents. The newly updated Third Edition provides important enhancements and additions that highlight the latest research and interpretive methods for the WAIS?-III. Augmenting the traditional "sequential" and "simultaneous" WAIS?-III interpretive methods, the authors present a new approach derived from Cattell-Horn-Carroll (CHC) theory. This approach combines normative assessment (performance relative to age peers) with ipsative assessment (performance relative to the person's own mean level). Following Flanagan and Kaufman's work to develop a similar CHC approach for the WISC?-IV, Kaufman and Lichtenberger have applied this system to the WAIS?-III profile of scores along with integrating recent WAIS?-III literature. Four appendices present the new method in depth. In addition to a detailed description, the authors provide a blank interpretive worksheet to help examiners make the calculations and decisions needed for applying the additional steps of the new system, and norms tables for the new WAIS?-III subtest combinations added in this approach. Assessing Adolescent and Adult Intelligence remains the premier resource for the field, covering not only the WAIS?-III but also the WJ III?, the KAIT, and several brief measures of intelligence, as well as laying out a relevant, up-to-date discussion of the discipline. The new, theory-based interpretive approach for the WAIS?-III makes this a vital resource for practicing psychologists, as well as a comprehensive text for graduate students.
Celebrating every learner : activities and strategies for creating a multiple intelligences classroom by
Call Number: LB1555 .C44 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Howard Gardner's groundbreaking theory applied for classroom use This important book offers a practical guide to understanding how Howard Gardner's theory of Multiple Intelligences (MI) can be used in the classroom. Gardner identified eight different types of intelligence: linguistic, logical, spatial, musical, bodily-kinesthetic, naturalist, interpersonal, and intrapersonal. Celebrating Every Learner describes the characteristics of each type of intelligence and follows up with ready-to-use lesson plans and activities that teachers can use to incorporate MI in their pre-K through 6 classrooms. Offers a treasury of easily implemented activities for engaging all students' multiple intelligences, from the New City School, a leading elementary school at the forefront of MI education Provides ready-to-use lesson plans that teachers can use to incorporate MI in any elementary classroom Includes valuable essays on how and why to integrate MI in the classroom Hoerr is the author of a bi-monthly column for Educational Leadership as well as the editor of the "Intelligence Connections" e-newsletter
The complete book of intelligence tests by
Call Number: BF431.3 .C65 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Brain-training is still hugely popular and the IQ (Intelligence Quotient) test is the original way of measuring for improvement in the brain's processes. This title includes tests and exercises.
Contemporary intellectual assessment : theories, tests, and issues by
Call Number: BF431 .C66 2012
Publication Date: 2012
In one volume, this authoritative reference presents a current, comprehensive overview of intellectual and cognitive assessment, with a focus on practical applications. Leaders in the field describe major theories of intelligence and provide the knowledge needed to use the latest measures of cognitive abilities with individuals of all ages, from toddlers to adults. Evidence-based approaches to test interpretation, and their relevance for intervention, are described. The book addresses critical issues in assessing particular populations -- including culturally and linguistically diverse students, gifted students, and those with learning difficulties and disabilities -- in todays educational settings. New to this edition: * incorporates major research advances and legislative and policy changes * covers recent test revisions plus additional tests: the NEPSY-II and the WNV * expanded coverage of specific populations: chapters on autism spectrum disorders, attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, sensory and physical disabilities and traumatic brain injury, and intellectual disabilities * and chapters on neuropsychological approaches, assessment of executive functions, and multi-tiered service delivery models in schools
Essentials of assessment with brief intelligence tests by
Call Number: BF431 .H65 2007
Publication Date: 2007
"This book presents concise information on the range of brief intelligence tests that are used most often in school and clinical practices and provides an overview and definition of brief intelligence testing as well as its uses and limitations. Sample evaluations using brief intelligence tests are also included."--BOOK JACKET.
Gifts, talents and education : a living theory approach by
Call Number: LC3993 H95 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Gifts, Talents and Education: A Living Theory Approach is a practical guide for teachers on how to help all their pupils to enhance their gifts and talents in the classroom.Examples reveal how teachers can transform the way education is understood in schools, by relating stories of how they learned about their own gifts and talents. The book explains recent key developments in multimedia representations of social and emotional aspects of learning. These permit the multi-sensory gifts and talents of individual learners to be recognised and developed within a process that enhances the emotionally literate space of enquiring classrooms.Gifts, Talents and Education assumes a capability approach to human development which rests on enabling individuals to realise their gifts and talents within a co-created sense of the common good. The book offers values, skills and understanding as concepts that retain a direct connection with practice. The stories are grounded in the lives of practitioner researchers who show the lived meanings of these ideas as they are realised in practice, asking questions such as 'how do I improve what I am doing?' and 'how do I live my values more fully in practice?'.
IQ : a smart history of a failed idea by
Call Number: BF431 .M87 2007
Publication Date: 2007
IQ scores have the power to determine the chances we have in life: the people we meet, the schools we attend, the jobs we get, the lives we live. Very few of us, however, understand what IQ tests and ratings really mean. In this book, Stephen Murdoch explains the turbulent history and controversial current uses of intelligence testing."--BOOK JACKET.
Multiple intelligences and language learning : a guidebook of theory, activities, inventories, and resources by
Call Number: P118.2 .C47 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Multiply your ways of using multiple intelligences in language teaching with this cutting-edge guidebook from the renowned language teacher and workshop presenter, Mary Ann Christison! The ultimate "how-to" for translating the theory of multiple intelligences (MI theory) into classroom practice, this resource introduces Gardner's theory of multiple intelligences (MI), suggests steps for teachers in applying MI theory, provides useful MI inventories for language learners and teachers, and discusses issues related to testing and assessment. It then devotes a chapter of activities to each one of the multiple intelligences--linguistic, logical/mathematical, visual/spatial, bodily/kinesthetic, the personal intelligences, musical, and the naturalistic intelligence. The activities are sorted by age and language level (kindergarten through adult, beginning through advanced), plus there is a subject index to help you find the right activities to complement the content you are teaching. In addition, there are tons of suggestions for lesson planning and curriculum development--all structured around the MI theory.
Psychometric tests for dummies by
Call Number: BF39 .H4 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Todaya's job market is tough; ita's dog-eat-dog, ruthless and competitive. Preparation is essential if you want to get the edge. As psychometric testing becomes standard for blue-chip companies to one-man bands this For Dummies guide could mean the difference between success and failure. As the world of HR embraces psychometric testing, more and more people are faced with the daunting prospect of having to sit these mysterious exams. The tests have become the standard way in which employers judge abilities - your capacity to work with numbers, words and diagrams; your attainment - what you actually know; and your personality - how you're likely to act. Psychometric Testing For Dummies is the essential tool for being prepared and calm. The book takes readers step-by-step through each type of test, what to expect and how to prepare for them. It also offers over 850 sample questions to practice on. Psychometric Testing For Dummies makes these notoriously difficult and confusing tests easy. Psychometric Testing For Dummies includes: Understanding why psychometric tests are used Detailed examination of numerical, verbal, technical and abstract tests Full explanation of personality tests How to deal with feedback Over 850 sample questions About the Author:Liam Healy is a British Psychological Society registered Chartered Occupational Psychologist. He is the Managing Director of CareerPsychologyCentre.com, a successful career guidance web site, and is a senior consultant with Liam Healy & Associates.He has written numerous books and articles on the subject of psychometric testing. He develops and publishes psychometric tests for corporate clients globally, and helped to pioneer the use of the Internet in psychometric testing in the UK.
Test and assess your IQ : numerical, verbal, and spatial aptitude tests by
Call Number: BF431.3 .C39 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Test and Assess your IQ contains over 400 questions, typical of those you are most likely to face. Organised into 10 timed tests, each of 40 questions, you will be able to practice and assess your technique and improve your performance when facing the real thing.
The Wiley-Blackwell handbook of individual differences by
Call Number: BF697 .W537 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Individual Differences provides a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of recent research, current perspectives, practical applications, and likely future developments in individual differences. Brings together the work of the top global researchers within the area of individual differences, including Philip L. Ackerman, Ian J. Deary, Ed Diener, Robert Hogan, Deniz S. Ones and Dean Keith Simonton. Covers methodological, theoretical and paradigm changes in the area of individual differences. Individual chapters cover core areas of individual differences including personality and intelligence, biological causes of individual differences, and creativity and emotional intelligence.
Need More Resources?
Search the Catalog via Encore