This is the "Useful Sources" page of the "IamInfoSMART" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IamInfoSMART  

Information Literacy Campaign of the DLSU Libraries
Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.dlsu.edu.ph/IamInfoSMART Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Useful Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Concise guide to information literacy - Scott Lanning
Call Number: ZA3075 .L36 2012
ISBN: 9781598849493
Publication Date: 2012
The American Library Association defines "information literacy" as "a set of abilities requiring individuals to recognize when information is needed and have the ability to locate, evaluate, and use effectively the needed information." "The Concise Guide to Information Literacy" gives students the tools they need to develop those abilities, including the search techniques and evaluation methods that will help them pinpoint what actually "is" academically sound information. Using the Association of College and Research Libraries' Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education as a framework, this much-needed sourcebook covers all the major facets of the information literacy process. For students, it is a ready-to-use guide that explains what information literacy is, why it is so important, and how to put it to use in both print and online research. For teachers, it is a helpful classroom resource that can serve as the basis for an information literacy course, a supplemental text, or a handy reference for research in any subject.

Cover Art
Information literacy beyond library 2.0 - Peter Godwin and Jo Parker
Call Number: ZA3075 .I55 2012
ISBN: 9781856047623
Publication Date: 2012
Part I explores the most recent trends in technology, consumption and literacy, while Part II is a resource bank of international case studies that demonstrate the key trends and their effect on information literacy and offer innovative ideas to put into practice. Part III assesses the impact of these changes on librarians and what skills and knowledge they must acquire to evolve alongside their users. This is essential reading offering practical strategies for all library and information practitioners and policy makers with responsibility for developing and delivering information literacy programmes to their users. It will also be of great interest to students of library and information studies particularly for modules relating to literacy, information behaviour and digital technologies.

Cover Art
Transforming information literacy instruction using learner-centered teaching - Joan R. Kaplowitz
Call Number: ZA3075 K36 2012
ISBN: 9781856048354
Publication Date: 2012
What is learner-centered teaching? -- How will you know learner-centered teaching when you see it? -- Where did learner-centered teaching come from? -- What will learners do? : learner-centered teaching methods -- How will learning be measured? : learner-centered assessment -- Creating the face-to-face learner-centered experience -- Creating the online learner-centered experience / with Hillary Kaplowitz -- Creating the blended learner-centered experience : a case study in transformation / with Hillary Kaplowitz -- Learner-centered teaching in action : vignettes from the field -- Where do we go from here?

Cover Art
NetSavvy - Ian Jukes; Anita Dosaj; Bruce Macdonald; Sara Armstrong (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB1044.87 J8 2000
ISBN: 0761975659
Publication Date: 2000
This is an easy-to-follow guide to demonstrate a better way of learning how to use the Internet. It shows all educators how to master and pass on information management skills through a five-stage process.

Cover Art
Teaching information literacy online - Thomas P. Mackey; Trudi E. Jacobson
Call Number: ZA3075 .T4 2011
ISBN: 9781555707354
Publication Date: 2010
As online learning becomes increasingly popular and widespread, librarians and faculty need new models for developing information literacy instruction in online environments. In this book, Thomas P. Mackey, Interim Dean at the Center for Distance Learning, SUNY Empire State College and Trudi E. Jacobson, Dudley Award Winner and Head User Education Librarian at SUNY Albany explore innovative faculty-librarian partnerships for teaching information literacy online. This edited volume includes a foreword by noted online learning scholar Terry Anderson, Professor & Canada Research Chair in Distance Education at Athabasca University. All of the contributions to this book are co-written by faculty-librarian teams, providing a global perspective from the UK s Open University and the University of Manchester, and from a number of U.S. institutions including the University of Central Florida, and Indiana State University. Each chapter fuses pedagogical, disciplinary, and technological issues and covers practical approaches to hybrid, blended, open, and fully online courses and programs. Several disciplines are represented at the undergraduate and graduate levels, including Business and Accounting, Computer and Library Science, History, English, Women's Studies, Education, and Social Work, as well as Curriculum Instruction and Media Studies. To help readers replicate the models in this book, each chapter includes an emphasis on program planning, best practices, potential challenges, and effective assessment strategies for improving student learning. Author teams describe technology innovations using reusable learning objects, Web 2.0 tools, learning management systems, open wiki environments, online portals, and the virtual world of Second Life.

Cover Art
Information literacy and information skills instruction - Nancy Pickering Thomas; Sherry R. Crow; Lori L. Franklin
Call Number: Z711.25.S36 T46 2011
ISBN: 9781598844900
Publication Date: 2011
As with earlier editions, this latest revision of Information Literacy and Information Skills Instruction: Applying Research to Practice in the 21st Century School Library brings together the research literature on information skills instruction with particular reference to models related to information seeking and the information search process. It presents relevant findings on what research has deemed "best practice" and what is known about how children learn, enabling school librarians to base information skills programs on substantiated data.||The sources reviewed for this book include doctoral dissertations, research reports, academic and professional journal articles in library information service and related fields, and publications by scholars and practitioners relevant to information skills curricula. A preface, newly prepared for the third edition, explains the revision process, while the epilogue examines the importance of communication between research scholars and school library practitioners.

Cover Art
Ways of experiencing information literacy - Susie Andretta
Call Number: ZA3075 .A5 2012
ISBN: 9781843346807
Publication Date: 2012
This book has two aims: firstly to present an investigation into information literacy by looking at how people engage with information to accomplish tasks or solve problems in personal, academic and professional contexts (also known as the relational approach). This view of information literacy illustrates a learner-centred perspective that will be of interest to educators who wish to go beyond the teaching of information skills. The second aim of this book is to illustrate how the relational approach can be used as an investigative framework. As a detailed account of a relational study, this book will appeal to researchers interested in using the relational framework to examine pedagogical experiences from the learner's perspective. Offers an investigation of the relational approach to examine information literacy from the perspective of the learner and the educator within diverse pedagogical conditions, both academic and professional Presents concrete examples of measuring the impact of the information literacy experience through the application of newly developed information literacy practices to unknown situations (described as Transfer), or through the changes in the learner's view of the world (described as Transformation) Written by an internationally known scholar and practitioner of information literacy

Cover Art
A guide to teaching infomation literacy - Helen Conroy; Jo Webb; Chris Powis; Helen Blanchett
Call Number: ZA3075. B55 2012
ISBN: 9781856046596
Publication Date: 2010
This book is a much-needed sourcebook to support library staff in the delivery of information literacy teaching, by providing practical guidance on tried and tested ideas and techniques for sessions. Full of hints and tips grounded in learning theory, it is a practical reference tool designed
to be dipped into as needed when planning teaching and training.

Cover Art
Silicon literacies - Ilana Snyder (Editor)
Call Number: LC149.5 .S5 2002
ISBN: 0415276683
Publication Date: 2002
Electronic communication is radically altering literacy practices. Silicon Literacies unravels the key features of the new communication order to explore the social, cultural and educational impact of silicon literacy practices. Written by leading international scholars from a range of disciplines, the essays in this collection examine the implications of text produced on a keyboard, visible on a screen and transmitted through a global network of computers. The book covers topics as diverse as role-playing in computer games, the use of graphic symbols in on-screen texts and Internet degree programmes to reveal that being literate is to do with understanding how different modalities combine to create meaning. Recognizing that reading and writing are only part of what people have to learn to be literate, the contributors enhance our understanding of the ways in which the use of new technologies influence, shape and sometimes transform literacy practices.

Cover Art
I-LEARN: A model for learning with information - Delia Neuman Ph.D.
Publication Date: 2011
This chapter’s presentation of the I-LEARN model is the heart of the book. It is also the longest chapter—using detailed text and a series of illustrations to explain the author’s model for learning in information-rich environments. A description of information behavior that extends traditional information-seeking models into one focused directly on learning, the model provides a blueprint for developing the concepts and skills required for meaningful learning in the information age. The chapter explains and expands I-LEARN’s grounding in ideas presented in the previous chapters and illustrates its application in both formal and informal information-rich environments. Recursive rather than linear, the model includes six stages and eighteen elements that intertwine and overlap. These stages and elements are presented as concepts rather than as specific steps to underscore the model’s flexibility and applicability in a wide range of settings. Detailed examples provide extensive guidance for conceptualizing and implementing it. The chapter is the culmination of the book’s argument that the world itself is the ultimate information-rich environment and that the ability to access, evaluate, and use all types of its information is the key to twenty-first-century learning.

Cover Art
Promoting blended learning strategies based on the participatory instructional design concept - Jilan Sun; Yuehong Sun
Publication Date: 2011
Blended learning, namely the combination of face-to-face teaching with computer aided on-line learning, has been proven to be an effective way in study, but still lower utilization in China’s institutions of higher learning, mainly because of teachers’ ideas and information literacy. Participatory instructional design theory is a new education teaching theory which arose in the late 20th century and refers to students’ participation in the teaching design process, planning together with faculty and other students and generating activity results. Based on the theoretical guidance of participatory instructional design, this paper explores a strategy of promoting blended learning, that is, by student’s participation and assistance, teachers use, develop, and form their blended learning concept in teaching practice.

Cover Art
Twenty-first century students need 21st century skills - Ken Kay; Valerie Greenhill
Publication Date: 2011
This chapter addresses the question of how to prepare every child for the new global economy. It introduces the Framework for 21st century Learning developed by Partnership for 21st century Skills. It is a unified, collective vision for 21st century learning that can be used to strengthen American education. The key elements of 21st century learning are presented and described. This chapter also addresses how school districts might implement the framework. Self-assessment, professional development, collaboration with community, and high school reform are discussed as effective strategies.

Cover Art
Using web 2.0 social networking to enhance collaborative learning in preparing graduation events - I-Tsun Chiang; Eric Zhi-Feng Liu; Shang-Ti Chen; Ru-Chu Shih
Publication Date: 2011
This article reports on research that attempted to find out how physical education professionals in the university environment are responding to the increasing importance and visibility of web 2.0 tools and social networking in Taiwan. The purpose of the study is to explore how the web 2.0 social networking and its influence on college students’ learning behavior in preparing graduation events. Two hundred and sixty-nine individuals voluntarily signed up a group, “Sport Broadway in NCUE”, for the annually graduation events on Facebook. Total 512 postings and responses had been posted and 2434 likes were collected and analyzed by quantitatively and qualitatively. Descriptive statistics in quantitative data and constant comparison in qualitative information were analyzed with the SPSS 15.0 and QSR Nvivo 7. The results identified that announcement, sharing feelings, encouragement, asking questions, and critiques are five major functions of posting. In addition, “like” which means “agree” and easy positive feedback in Facebook was given most frequently when critiques and sharing encouragement. The finding showed that Web 2.0 social networking are viable way to motivate colleague students to collaborate and learn to accomplish tasks and to overcome challenges. However, the quality of posts and comments were easily out of control when the levels of stress rises and emotions come. The study implicates that Web 2.0 social networking is worth to promote and to be developed as an educational tool in college levels.

Cover Art
Research on the transition of the service mechanism of the university library - Ke Wang; Jin Xu
Publication Date: 2011
This paper discussed the Service Mechanism of “human-oriented” in university library, which is an essential requirement and the prevailing trend for university library development today. According to the practical problems, this paper from four aspects proposes some relevant suggestions for the transition of Service mechanism in university library, thus provide a reference for current university library.

Cover Art
Reform of basic computer education and cultivation of innovation talent in higher education - LiFeng Yang
Publication Date: 2011
The basic computer education is the major theme of training information literacy in colleges and universities, and it is also an important part of cultivating the innovation talent. This paper analyzes the development, characteristics and challenges of the basic computer education in China. In the new situation, the basic computer education reform should take the cultivation of innovation talent as center. This paper discusses the reform ideas and methods of nurturing the innovation talent from points of educational idea, teaching system, teaching content, teaching methods, and system reform.

Cover Art
Phased experimental teaching in the college course of computer and information technology - Nanli Zhu; Yu Yao; Jianbo Fan; Yongping Zhang; Meng Zou; Peng An
Publication Date: 2011
The problems of students’ starting computer knowledge discrepancy and disconnection of theory and experiment classes pose new challenges to the current teaching practice of college Computer and Information Technology. In light of Rogers’s non-directive pedagogy and the reality of first-year college students’ computer classes, this paper proposes a phased experimental teaching paradigm under the guideline of experiment-initiated teaching mode. This new paradigm divides the course into a number of links, in each the experiments of lower difficulty level placed prior to class lecturing so that students can learn in an epistemologically accumulative process. This paper illustrates how phased teaching paradigm is implemented in the links of C Programming module.

Cover Art
Rethinking the doctorate from a liberal arts college - Pablo Toral
Publication Date: 2011
The authors in this volume evaluate whether universities have chosen to increase the value of a doctorate as a source of intellectual capital or whether they are wedded to the degree as a certification and dollar producing endeavor. This chapter reflects on the doctorate as a source of intellectual capital, but not solely as a mere instrument to help the doctoral candidates develop the skills to conduct research in a particular field of inquiry so that they can advance the frontiers of knowledge. It focuses on the need to embed this approach in a broader process that will allow the candidates to develop additional advisory and pedagogical skills so that they can be well equipped to teach college students how to become life-long learners and researchers them¬selves.

Cover Art
ACIA—a course design approach to game design theory - Chun-Tsai Wu; Szu-Ming Chung; Shao-Shiun Chang
Publication Date: 2011
Based on constructivist teaching and experiential learning, this research proposes ACIA (stands for Authentic Learning, Learning Community, Interaction, and Assessment) to structure a course of game design theory. Its framework includes: (1) an experiential learning:the college students have to design an educational game for elementary students; (2) a web-based learning community, unlimited to different majors, for inspiring cooperative learning from different stakeholders, as communicating channel for game developers, for obtaining meaningful interaction and guidance fromteachers; and (3) Evaluation, adopting self-assessment, peer and performance assessment to specifically reflect the knowledge, skills, and attitudes in students’ learning. A game design theory course with the above three elements can motivate students’ active learning and develop their advanced thinking skills.

Cover Art
Web 2.0 divide among naughty insiders, worried outsiders, and invisible monitors: A case study - Mingmei Yu, Allan H. K. Yuen, Jae Park; Hoi Ching Lam; Kai Kwong Lau; Wilfred Lau
Publication Date: 2011
Through focus group interview, this paper carried out a case study in a secondary school in Hong Kong on the use of Web 2.0 technologies among students, parents, and teachers. Findings suggest that there was no divide in terms of access and usage but a divide of web 2.0 technologies use among them. In conclusion, our research team speculated the roles that all these stakeholders were playing and attempted to describe them as: naughty insiders, worried outsiders, and invisible monitors.

 

Scholarly Articles

Information literacy on the web: How college students use visual and textual clues to assess credibility on health websites. IN Communications in Information Literacy, 6(1), 34-48 - Pariera, Katrina L.
Publication Date: 2012
One of the most important literacy skills in today's information society is the ability to determine the credibility of online information. Users sort through a staggering number of websites while discerning which will provide satisfactory information. In this study, 70 college students assessed the credibility of health websites with a low and high design quality in either low or high credibility groups. The study's purpose was to understand if students relied more on textual or visual cues in determining credibility and to understand if this affected their recall of those cues later. The results indicate that when viewing a high credibility website, high design quality will bolster the credibility perception, but design quality will not compensate for a low credibility website. The recall test also indicated that credibility does impact the participants' recall of visual and textual cues. Implications are discussed in light of the Elaboration Likelihood Model.

Engagement and assessment in a credit-bearing information literacy course. IN Reference Services Review, 41(1), 62-79 - Mayer, Jennifer; Bowles-Terry, Melissa
Publication Date: 2013
Purpose - The authors teach a three-credit, upper-division, information literacy (IL) course to students in various majors. The purpose of this paper is to share the various philosophies and activities the authors use to engage their students and create a cohesive interdisciplinary course and to describe the various assessment tools utilized. Design/methodology/approach - In this case study, the authors give specific examples of engaging assignments and methods for evaluating student work in a credit-bearing IL course. Findings - It is found that if students are engaged, and effective assessment tools are employed, library credit instruction in a face-to-face setting with upper-classmen from diverse majors is an impactful way to teach IL. Practical implications - This article provides ideas on how to use a topical theme in teaching an interdisciplinary IL credit course; concrete approaches on engaging students in an IL course; and new strategies for assessing an IL credit-bearing course. Many of the engagement and assessment methods the authors share may also be applied to one-shot instruction sessions. Originality/value - The paper provides a practical case study of the authors' experiences engaging students and assessing their work in an upper level, three-credit, face-to-face class, a type of course not well represented in the information literacy literature at this point in time.

Rethinking information literacy: a practical framework for supporting learning. IN Reference & User Services Quarterly, 53(1), 79-80 - Stenis, Paul
Publication Date: 2013
For readers in the U.S., this volume provides an opportunity to rethink approaches, borrow ideas, draw comparisons, and revisit information literacy concepts. An excellent companion to this title would be the Godwin and Parker edited volume, Information Literacy Beyond Library 2.0, which provides a wealth of practical examples with an eye toward the future.-Paul Stems, Librarian for Instructional Design, Outreach, and Training, Pepperdine University, Malibu, California

Student learning and workplace IL: a case study. IN Library Trends, 60(3), 637-650 - D'Angelo, Barbara
Publication Date: 2012
This article reports on a case study that analyzed portfolios composed by technical communication undergraduate majors at a research university in the United States. Results showed that students, who are also practicing professionals in their field, exhibited information literacy (IL) outcomes more typical of the workplace than academia. The categories of research engaged in by students to complete course work included academic, applied, and experiential. These categories grounded the students' research in rhetorical and contextually situated practices. They indicate that it may be important to broaden the way that information literacy is articulated, taught, and learned to bridge the gap between academia and the workplace.

A libguides presence in a blackboard environment. IN Reference Services Review, 4(3), 449-468 - Bowen, Aaron
Publication Date: 2012
Purpose - This paper aims to describe current approaches to and assess the value of placing course-level research guides generated through LibGuides software into Blackboard learning management system (LMS) shells. It also aims to describe the specific technique of such placement in Blackboard Vista and Blackboard Learn shells. Design/methodology/approach - A link to a library assignment made with LibGuides was embedded as a button in the left-side navigation bar of the Blackboard shell for an undergraduate communications course. A total of 57 student users responded to a survey on their perceptions of this method of accessing library resources. Findings - The paper reveals that students broadly value access to library resources from a convenient and persistently visible link within their course shell. They demonstrate a strong inclination to use the embedded library resource link first before using other information sources on the open internet. Practical implications - The study supports the placement of library research guides in a persistently visible position in LMS course shells and presents specific instructions on doing so. Further, this process requires and promotes coordination among librarians, instructors, and information technology staff. Originality/value - The paper fills a gap in the current practice and theory of the placement of library research guides in course-level LMSs. It provides empirical research results on the strong effectiveness of persistently visible embedded links to these guides with a student user survey. The paper also describes the practical procedure for combining the dominant instructional technology programs of LibGuides and both Blackboard Vista and Blackboard Learn.

'How can we help?' the contribution of the university libraries to student retention. IN Australian Academic and Research Libraries 43(3), 214-230 - Hagel, Pauline; Horn, Anne; Owen, Sue; Currie, Michael
Publication Date: 2012
The Australian Government's Higher Education Participation and Partnerships Program aims to encourage greater participation of students from low socioeconomic backgrounds in higher education. Historically, participation and retention rates of students from underrepresented groups have been less than for the majority of school leavers. Universities are now intensifying their efforts to improve retention, and expect all parts of their institutions, including the university library, to contribute. Through a review of conceptual and empirical literature, this paper identifies five potential means by which a library may contribute to student retention and concludes by outlining one library's approach to investigating its contribution.

Teaching web evaluation: a cognitive development approach. IN Communications in Information Literacy, 7(1), 39-49 - Benjes-Small, Candice; Archer, Alyssa; Tucker, Katelyn; Vassady, Lisa; Resor, Jennifer
Publication Date: 2013
Web evaluation has been a standard information literacy offering for years and has always been a challenging topic for instruction librarians. Over time, the authors had tried a myriad of strategies to teach freshmen how to assess the credibility of Web sites but felt the efforts were insufficient. By familiarizing themselves with the cognitive development research, they were able to effectively revamp Web evaluation instruction to improve student learning. This article discusses the problems of traditional methods, such as checklists; summarizes the cognitive development research, particularly in regards to its relationship to the ACRL Information Literacy Standards; and details the instructional lesson plan developed by the authors that incorporates cognitive development theories.

Distance students and online research: Promoting information literacy through media literacy. IN The Internet and Higher Education, 13(3), 170–175 - Rebecca Van de Vord
Publication Date: 2010
Today's college students, particularly distance students, are increasingly dependent on the Web for their research needs. At the same time they lack the critical thinking skills required to successfully evaluate the actual credibility of online information, a critical aspect of information literacy. Furthermore, rather than access the online library database, distance students are more likely to employ generic search engines in their research quests, making more critical the need for information literacy. The current study employed an online survey designed to explore the relationships between critical evaluation of online information, as a measure of information literacy, and components of media literacy. Results suggest a significant, positive relationship between these literacies. These findings suggest variety in the types of strategies instructors and instructional designers might employ towards the development of information literacy skills required for today's graduates to successfully negotiate the 21st century information society.

Cover Art
Information literacy education: Applications of mediated learning and multiple intelligences. IN Library & Information Science Research, 30(3), 195–206 - Intan Azura Mokhtara ; Shaheen Majidb ; Schubert Foob
Publication Date: 2008
Research has shown that mastering information literacy (IL) competencies helps students perform better academically or otherwise. However, there is limited evidence that indicates a relationship between IL teaching methods and IL competencies. This study investigates the impact of IL teaching that incorporates appropriate pedagogical approaches on students' applicability of IL competencies. The study was carried out in four secondary schools in Singapore. Students were organized into groups of five and were assigned a group project. Those in the experimental sub-clusters were exposed to various intervention approaches, while the control sub-clusters were left on their own to carry out the project. Three independent, neutral teacher-examiners evaluated the results of the group reports and projects. The results showed significant differences in the achievements of students in the experimental groups that underwent both interventions as compared to the control groups.

An information literacy perspective on learning and new media. IN On the Horizon 19(4), 268-275 - Crystle Martin
Publication Date: 2011
Purpose - This paper aims to investigate an information literacy perspective on learning and new media, specifically virtual worlds and online affinity spaces. It aims to cover the potential of information literacy as an educational linchpin in the age of new media education. Design/methodology/approach - This conceptual paper explores an information literacy perspective for learning and new media through previous research and prediction. Findings - Information literacy provides a framework for addressing the explosion of information available, as well as a way to encourage self-sufficient learners in the digital age. Originality/value - Whereas previous studies have neglected information literacy as a lifelong skill, this paper recognizes the importance of research in virtual worlds which unveils the potential of new media as sites of learning independent from formal spaces. Recognizing the impact of information literacy on an information-dependent society, it contributes to a body of literature about individual practices which allows for the creation of new instructional strategies.

Developing information literacy skills early in an undergraduate curriculum. IN College Teaching, 58(3), 109-115 - Freeman, Edward; Lynd-Balta, Eileen
Publication Date: 2010
Several core competencies related to information literacy have been identified by the Association of College and Research Libraries. Students must learn to gather relevant information and communicate their findings effectively. The collaborative activity described here, which could easily be adapted for other disciplines, introduces first-semester freshmen to the standards of professional scientific writing, the different forms of publication, search strategies to effectively find information using a relevant database, and plagiarism. Analysis of our pre- and post-activity assessment demonstrates that students gain both confidence and knowledge on several important skills as a result of this activity. Providing content-relevant information literacy experience lays the foundation for students to be successful consumers of information.

Information literacy: Foundation for evidence-based practice. IN Neonatal Network, 32(2), 127-31 - Cheeseman, Susan E, DNP, APRN, NNP-BC
Publication Date: 2013
This is the second part of an earlier article in the "Health Information Technology" column addressing how information literacy provides a foundation for evidence-based practice (EBP). The American Nurses Association (ANA) states that all nurses need informatics competencies in computer literacy, information literacy, and professional development to practice with health information technology.1 The Technology Informatics Guiding Education Reform (TIGER ) Initiative established a Nursing Informatics Competency Model with three parts: basic computer competencies, information literacy, and information management.2.

The only way is information literacy. IN Legal Information Management, 12(1), 44-50 - Choolhun, Natasha
Publication Date: 2012
This article, written by Natasha Choolhun, follows the progress of submitting a proposal to BIALL Council on the topic of devising a 'Legal Information Literacy Toolkit' following discussion at the 2011 BIALL conference.

Information literacy assessment: Keep it simple, keep Iit going. IN Reference & User Services Quarterly, 52(3), 208-215 - Sheret, Larry; Steele, John A
Publication Date: 2013
The article also provides an overview of how to embed IL instruction and IL assessment into the classroom to improve student skills in critical thinking, IL, public speaking, and research and persuasive writing. Outcomes Include: b. Uses various classification schemes and other sys- tems (e.g., call number systems or indexes) to locate information resources within the library or to identify specific sites for physical exploration.

Information literacy self-efficacy: The effect of juggling work and study. IN Library & Information Science Research, 35(4), 279–287 - Mitchell Ross; Helen Perkins; Kelli Bodey
Publication Date: 2013
Information literacy self-efficacy and academic motivation are both argued to play important roles in student academic development. The former is considered to be a predictor of student academic achievement while the latter is considered a key factor in developing information literacy self-efficacy. Today, many students undertake paid employment in conjunction with their academic studies and little is known about the effect this may have on their information literacy self-efficacy and academic motivation. As such, the relationship between information literacy self-efficacy, academic motivation, and employment has been unexplored. Data were collected via a questionnaire, comprised of existing scales, which was administered to undergraduate business students in an Australian higher education (HE) institution. A response rate of 58% resulted in 585 completed questionnaires. Findings suggest that whether or not students were engaged in paid employment did not appear to influence information literacy self-efficacy, although students in paid employment did exhibit significantly lower intrinsic motivation than students not in paid employment. Additionally, for students not in paid employment a significant relationship was found between amount of time spent on study and information literacy self-efficacy. Of some concern, the small amount of time students reported spending in academic pursuits outside of scheduled classes raises issues regarding the placement of information literacy instruction. For information literacy practitioners this study contributes to awareness regarding the conceptualization of information literacy instruction and its placement in the HE environment.

Information literacy through inquiry. IN Aslib Proceedings, 63(2/3), 221-240 - McKinney, Pamela; Jones, Myles; Turkington, Sandra
Publication Date: 2011
A support document was created for students to help them with their inquiry projects that explained a number of pertinent issues to do with the task. This document contained a definition of information literacy and the SCONUL "Seven Pillars" model and it was explicitly stated that the IBL activities would help students in building information literacy skills.

Teaching students about information: Information literacy and cognitive authority. IN Research Strategies, 20(4), 322–333 - Troy Swanson
Publication Date: 2005
Scholarship has not undergone a paradigm shift in terms of argument and research with the introduction of the Web-based information world. Searching, on the other hand, has undergone a significant shift. In teaching students to find, use, and evaluate information, librarians and instructors need a useful model of the information world that enables them to teach students about information. A practical example of how this may be accomplished is presented.

Information literacy landscapes: an emerging picture. IN Journal of Documentation, 62(5), 570-583 - Lloyd, Annemaree
Publication Date: 2006
Purpose - To describe the various landscapes in which information literacy has been explored and to propose new ways of thinking about information literacy. Design/methodology/approach - Draws on constructivist-influenced grounded theory method employed during doctoral research into information literacy practices of firefighters. Findings - Information-literate people are more usefully described as being engaged, enabled, enriched and embodied. Information literacy is conceptualized through this research as a way of knowing. The revised and extended definition is a more appropriate one to underpin an emerging ontological perspective on information literacy and to foster an understanding of information literacy as a meta-competency. Research limitations/implications - The research was limited to an in-depth exploration of one professional group in one geographic location over 18 months. Practical implications - The provision of a broader definition of the information literacy and the illustration of how information is perceived in a variety of concepts broadens librarians' and educators' understanding of information literacy. It offers librarians and educators a different way of thinking about information literacy. Originality/value - This paper reports and expands upon original doctoral research of significance to information professionals and educators.

Framing information literacy as information practice: site ontology and practice theory. IN Journal of Documentation, 66(2), 245-258 - Lloyd, Annemaree
Publication Date: 2010
Purpose - Information literacy is a rich and complex social information practice that is constructed according to specific practical understandings, rules and teleoaffective features which characterise a social site or setting. This paper aims to explore the philosophical and theoretical perspective of practice theory, in particular, the ontological work of Schatzki. These perspectives are to be used to frame an understanding of the features of information literacy as sociocultural practice. Design/methodology/approach - A theoretical perspective is introduced to examine the concept of information literacy practice by framing this analysis through a site ontology developed by Schatzki. Sociocultural and practice theory are employed in this exploration of information literacy as sociocultural practice and provide a framework for architecture of information literacy practice. Findings - Information literacy can be understood as a critical information practice which is organised and arranged through the site of the social, rather than as a reified and decontexualised set of skills. Research limitations/implications - Framing information literacy research through site ontology and the use of a practice perspective has implications for further research into information literacy and for the development of pedagogic practices related to information literacy instruction Originality/value - The paper offers an alternate way of framing information literacy by introducing the concepts related to practice theory.

Approaches to learning information literacy: A phenomenographic study. IN The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 38(4), 217–225 - Rae-Anne Diehm; Mandy Lupton
Publication Date: 2012
This paper reports on an empirical study that explores the ways students approach learning to find and use information. Based on interviews with 15 education students in an Australian university, this study uses phenomenography as its methodological and theoretical basis. The study reveals that students use three main strategies for learning information literacy: 1) learning by doing; 2) learning by trial and error; and 3) learning by interacting with other people. Understanding the different ways that students approach learning information literacy will assist librarians and faculty to design and provide more effective information literacy education.

Library instruction and information literacy 2011. IN Reference Services Review, 40(4), 601-703 - Johnson, Anna Marie; Sproles, Claudene; Detmering, Robert; English, Jessica
Publication Date: 2012
Purpose - The purpose of this paper is to provide a selected bibliography of recent resources on library instruction and information literacy. Design/methodology/approach - The paper introduces and annotates periodical articles, monographs, and audiovisual material examining library instruction and information literacy. Findings - Information is provided about each source, and the paper discusses the characteristics of current scholarship, and describes sources that contain unique scholarly contributions and quality reproductions. Originality/value - The information may be used by librarians and interested parties as a quick reference to literature on library instruction and information literacy.

 

Evaluation

Please help us evaluate the helpfulness and usefulness of this page.

1. Patron Type *
2. Was this information helpful? *
Yes
Somewhat helpful
No
Do not know
3. How useful is this page? *
Very useful
Useful
Somewhat useful
Not useful
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip