This is the "Home" page of the "Philippine Literary Writers/Authors" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philippine Literary Writers/Authors  

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2015 URL: http://libguides.dlsu.edu.ph/content.php?pid=493312 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Title

Philippine Literary Writers/Authors

 

Scope Note

This webliography consists of selected biographical websites and web pages of well known Philippine Literary/Authors. Entries are arranged alphabetically by Philippine Literary Writers/Authors.

 

Internet Sites

Francisco Arcellana
http://www.globalpinoy.com/ch/ch_nationalartists_sub.php?name=Francisco%20Arcellana&category=Literature
[Retrieved November 06, 2008]

This page contains a brief background of Francisco Arcellana’s educational background. It introduces the reader with his significant contributions to the development of Philippine literature.

Virgilion S. Almario
http://www.globalpinoy.com/ch/ch_nationalartists_sub.php?name=Virgilio%20S.%20Almario&category=Literature 
[Retrieved November 06, 2008]

Also known as Rio Alma, this site describes him as a poet, literary historian and critic and the country's premier poet writing in Filipino.

N. V. M. Gonzales 
http://www.nvmgonzalez.org/writersworkshop/index.html
[Retrieved November 07, 2008]

Amado V. Hernandez 
http://nationalartists.panitikan.com.ph/avhernandez.htm
[Retrieved November 06, 2008]

This site of Amado V. Hernandez contains an account of his personal, educational and literary contribution to the development of Philippine literature.

Nick Joaquin 
http://pinoylit.webmanila.com/filipinowriters/njoaquin.htm
[Retrieved November 06, 2008]

This site contains Nick Joaquin’s life story as poet, fictionist, essayist, biographer and playwright. It includes an account of his educational background and a list of his published books and the awards and prizes he received.

Francisco Sionil Jose
http://www.me.uvic.ca/~art/afsj.html
[Retrieved November 06, 2008]

Called as Philippine national treasure, this site describes how F. Sionil Jose was introduced to literature and eventually wrote short stories and novels where he has been awarded with numerous fellowships and prestigious awards.

Bienvenido Lumbera
http://www.lumbera.ph.
[Retrieved November 06, 2008]

This site contains links to Dr. Lumbrera's life, his writings, interviews, write-ups and photo gallery.

Alejandro R. Roces
http://www.ncca.gov.ph/about-ncca/org-awards/literature/alejandro_roces.php
[Retrieved November 07, 2008]

This site provides a short account of how Alejandro Roces, considered as the country’s best writer of comic short stories, showed his unflinching love of country through his innumerable newspaper columns on Filipino cultures.

http://nationalartists.panitikan.com.ph/aroces.htm
[Retrieved November 07, 2008]

This site contains a brief article about Alejandro Roces, a fictionist and essayist who "promoted the application of the arts not only in the service of education and development but also in the fostering of social consciousness and the transformation of a Filipino society".

Carlos P. Romulo
http://www.answers.com/topic/carlos-p-romulo-1
[Retrieved November 07, 2008]

This site contains an account of Carlos P. Romulo as an author and the foremost diplomat of the Philippines. It provides a chronological history of his life from early schooling until his appointment as Secretary of Foreign Affairs of the Philippines.

Edith L. Tiempo
http://www.globalpinoy.com/ch/ch_nationalartists_sub.php?name=Edith%20L.%20Tiempo&category=Literature
[Retrieved November 07, 2008]

This page contains a brief account of Edith L. Tiempo, who was a poet, fictionist, teacher, literary critic and considered as one of the finest Filipino writers in English.

Jose Garcia Villa
http://pinoylit.webmanila.com/filipinowriters/garvilla.htm
[Retrieved November 06, 2008]

A consummate artist in poetry and in person as well, this page contains an account of Jose Garcia Villa’s family and educational background. It also contains a partial list of his published books.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip