This is the "Home" page of the "Philippine Revolutionaries and Heroes" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philippine Revolutionaries and Heroes  

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2015 URL: http://libguides.dlsu.edu.ph/content.php?pid=493308 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Title

Philippine Revolutionaries and Heroes

 

Scope Note

This webliography consists of selected biographical websites and web pages of well known Philippine revolutionaries and heroes. Entries are arranged alphabetically by surname of revolutionaries/heroes.

 

Internet Sites

Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo
http://www.bookrags.com/biography/emilio-aguinaldo/ 
[Retrieved November 20, 2007]

This is the Encyclopedia of World Biography site which contains information about Emilio Aguinaldo, a Philippine revolutionary leader. It includes accounts on how he fought for the independence of the Philippine Islands, first against Spain and then against the United States.

http://www.loc.gov/rr/hispanic/1898/aguinaldo.html 
[Retrieved November 20, 2007]

Entitled Saint of National Liberation or Prancing Fool? : The Image of Emilio Aguinaldo by Randy Arguelles, this page discusses lengthily how Aguinaldo experienced all three colonial eras (Spain for the first 303 years; the United States for the next 50 years; and, finally, Japan during its imperialistic campaigns in Asia during World War II) and how he either collaborated with or opposed each of the imperial powers.

Benigno 'Ninoy" Aquino Jr. 
http://www.answers.com/topic/benigno-aquino-jr
[Retrieved November 29, 2007]

Provides an extensive account of the life of Benigno Aquino, Jr., beginning with his early life, his political career, the Martial law period and his hunger strike, the 1978 elections, his bypass surgery, his exile until his return to the Philippines, the aftermath of his assassination and his legacy as a result of his personal and political life. It also contains external links and references.

http://www.globalpinoy.com/ch/ch_category.php?category=heroes&name=Benigno%20Aquino%20Jr.&table=ch_heroes&startpage=1&endpage=15 
[Retrieved November 29, 2007]

Contains a brief biography of Benigno “Ninoy” Aquino Jr. who was a leading Philippine oppositionist during the presidency of Ferdinand Marcos. This site tells how Ninoy Aquino became the voice of the people during the Martial Law years.

Melchora Aquino
http://www.msc.edu.ph/centennial/sora.html
[Retrieved November 29, 2007]

With excerpts from Talambuhay ng mga Bayani by Rene Alba, this site describes how Melchora Aquino was aptly called the "Mother of Katipunan” and provides a brief account of her heroism.

http://www.geocities.com/Tokyo/Harbor/1320/bbiaquim.html
[Retrieved November 28, 2007]

This page contains a brief biography of Melchora Aquino who is known as Tandang Sora ("Tandang" is derived from the Tagalog word "matanda" which means "old") in Philippine history.

Andres Bonifacio
http://www.bookrags.com/biography/andres-bonifacio/
[Retrieved July 15, 2009]

Taken form Encyclopedia of World Biography, this biography of Andres Bonifacio contins a brief account of his early life and political activities until his execution in May 10, 1897..

http://www.wowparadisephilippines.com/life-andres-bonifacio.html
[Retrieved July 15, 2009]

This site includes a short account of Andres Bonifacio's early life where his love for reading and writing of poetry despite his lack of education brought him to become a passionate Filipino nationalist, established La Liga Filipina and organized the KKK or the "Kataastaasang Kagalanggalangang Katipunan ng mga anak ng bayan".

Gen. Gregorio Del Pilar
http://www.globalpinoy.com/ch/ch_category.php?category=heroes&name=Gregorio%20del%20Pilar&table=ch_heroes&startpage=1&endpage=15 
[Retrieved November 28, 2007]

Remembered as the "Hero of Tirad Pass", this site provides a brief account of Gregorio Del Pilar's life as the young general who fought bravely against the Americans.

http://www.geocities.com/CollegePark/Pool/1644/delpilar.html
[Retrieved November 28, 2007]

As one of the signatories of the Pact of Biak-na-Bato, this site contains a brief account of Gregorio Del Pilar's education and heroism.

Marcelo H. Del Pilar 
http://msc.edu.ph/centennial/mhdpilar.html
[Retrieved November 21, 2007]

Described as hero of the Philippine Revolution, this site provides excerpts from The Philippines: a Past Revisited by Renato Constantino and Talambuhay ng mga Bayani by Rene Alba regarding Marcelo H. Del Pilar’s family, education and political activities.

http://www.bookrags.com/biography/marcelo-hilario-del-pilar/
[Retrieved November 21, 2007]

Covers an account of Marcelo del Pilar's life as Philippine revolutionary propagandist and satirist who founded the newspaper Diariong Tagalog. It also gives an account of his travel in Spain and of being the editor of the Filipino reformist periodical La Solidaridad in Madrid.

Emilio Jacinto
http://www.geocities.com/Tokyo/Harbor/1320/bbijacin.html
[Retrieved November 21, 2007]

Contains a brief biography of Emilio Jacinto, known as "Brains of the Katipunan”, who also wrote the Kartilla, the primer of the Katipunan, which contained its rules and regulations, and edited the Ang Kalayaan, the newspaper of the Katipunan which informed the people of the aims and activities of the association.

http://www.globalpinoy.com/ch/ch_category.php?category=heroes&name=Emilio%20Jacinto&table=ch_heroes&startpage=1&endpage=15 
[Retrieved November 21, 2007]

Maintained by Global Pinoy.com,this site provides a brief account of Emilio Jacinto’s education and political activities.

Graciano Lopez Jaena
http://www.univie.ac.at/Voelkerkunde/apsis/aufi/history/jaena.htm
[Retrieved November 22, 2007]

Written by Dr. Robert L. Yoder, FAPC, this biographical page tells about Graciano Lopez Jaena's family background, his writings and travel to Spain and how he was regarded as one of the triumvirate of Filipino propagandists.

http://www.globalpinoy.com/ch/ch_category.php?category=heroes&name=Graciano%20Lopez-Jaena&table=ch_heroes&startpage=1&endpage=15 
[Retrieved November 22, 2007]

From Global Pinoy.com, this site provides a brief account of Graciano Lopez Jaena's life and how he was remembered for his creation of the highly popular La Solidaridad.

Antonio Luna 
http://www.geocities.com/CollegePark/Pool/1644/luna.html
[Retrieved November 21, 2007]

Maintained by Geocities.com, this page contains the biography of Antonio Luna which gives account on his birth, early education from the Ateneo De Manila and University of Sto. Tomas up to his Licentiate in Pharmacy at the University of Barcelona. It also includes a lengthy account of his political activities and the battles he fought in the fields of Pampanga, Tarlac and Pangasinan against the Americans.

http://msc.edu.ph/centennial/aluna.html
[Retrieved November 21, 2007]

From Talambuhay ng mga Bayani by Rene Alba and The Rise and Fall of Antonio Luna by Vivencio R. Jose, this site presents a brief account of Antonio Luna’s life as the fiery-tempered but brilliant military strategist of Gen Aguinaldo.

Juan Luna
http://www.lopezmuseum.org.ph/bio_luna.html
[Retrieved November 21, 2007]

From the Lopez Memorial Museum, this site provides a substantial biography of Antonio Luna which includes accounts of his early life, his paintings, and political activities.

http://msc.edu.ph/centennial/jluna.html
[Retrieved November 21, 2007]

With excerpts from Talambuhay ng mga Bayani by Rene Alba, this site contains a brief account of Juan Luna's life which includes his famous masterpieces and notable works.

Apolinario Mabini
http://www.bulatlat.com/news/3-14/3-14-mabini.html
[Retrieved November 21, 2007]

This is an article written by Alexander Martin Remollino on the occasion of the 100th death anniversary of Apolinario Mabini, known to Filipinos as "The Sublime Paralytic" and "The Brains of the Revolution." Included in this page are accounts about his education and his political activities.

http://www.bookrags.com/biography/apolinario-mabini/
[Retrieved November 21, 2007]

From the Encyclopedia of World Biography, this site on Apolinario Mabini (1864-1903), provides an account of the Filipino political philosopher and architect of the Philippine revolution. It covers information about his education and political activities as a pacifist reformist and as a selfless and dedicated patriot.

Dr. Jose Protacio Rizal
http://www.joserizal.ph/fm01.html
[Retrieved November 20, 2007]

Maintained by the Jose Rizal University, this site contains links to Dr. Jose Rizal's Biography; Family; Early Childhood; Education; Philosophies; Different Characters; Travels; Love Life; Works; Paintings; Sketches; Sculptures; Maps & Plans; Poems; Novels such as Noli Me Tangere, El Filibusterismo; The Katipunan; The Propaganda Movement; Rizal in Dapitan; Life After Dapitan; His Last Hours; and The Retraction.

http://www.hawaii.edu/cps/rizal.html
[Retrieved November 20, 2007]

This site provides links to the following: Jose Rizal Website , by Jose Rizal University; The Foremost Atenean , Ateneo de Manila University; Jose Rizal and the Revolution, by Floro Quibuyen, University of Hawaii; Jose Rizal Biography, Western Washington University; Jose Rizal, edited by Johann Stockinger, University of Vienna.

Gabriela Silang
http://www.seasite.niu.edu/Tagalog/New_Intermediate_Tagalog/Reading_Lessons/LESSONS/gabriela_silang.htm
[Retrieved November 28, 2007]

Written in Filipino language, this site contains a biography of Gabriela Silang who was described as “Simbulo ng Kababaihan”. It provides an account of her family, political life and heroism being the first Filipina revolutionary leader.

http://www.santa.gov.ph/ilocossur/herogabriela.html
[Retrieved November 28, 2007]

From the official website of the province of Ilocos Sur, this page contains a lengthy biography of Gabriela Silang who was described as Joan of Arc of Ilocandia and as the equally great wife of the famous Diego Silang, Ilocandia’s liberator. The page includes an account of her assumed leadership of the libertarian cause and carried on the war against Spain.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip