This is the "Home" page of the "Systems Software" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Systems Software  

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2015 URL: http://libguides.dlsu.edu.ph/content.php?pid=493301 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Title

Systems Software

 

Scope Note

This webliography consists of articles, definitions, research papers, and other web resources on Systems Software.

 

Definition

"Refers to the operating system and all utility programs that manage computer resources at a low level. Software is generally divided into systems software and applications software. Applications software comprises programs designed for an end user, such as word processors, database systems, and spreadsheet programs. Systems software includes compilers, loaders, linkers, and debuggers."

Quoted from:
http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/s/systems_software.html

 

 

Internet Sites

Object-Oriented Development of Software Systems for Power System Simulations
http://www.powerinfo.us/services/OOM_Paper.pdf
[Retrieved March 11, 2010]

Written by Jun Zhu of IEEE Operation Technology, Inc. Irvine, California and David L. Lubkeman of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Clemson University, this paper proposes applying object-oriented technology for power system software development.

Operating Systems
http://www.computerhope.com/os.htm
[Retrieved March 18, 2010

From the searchable page of Computer Hope, this article consists of quick links to Operating System ABCs, Operating System types, Operating System overviews, Troubleshooting, Operating System Q&A, Operating System definitions, Apple news, Linux / Unix news and Microsoft news. It contains links to common questions and answers to operating systems in general.

Software
http://www.answers.com/topic/computer-software
[Retrieved Mrch 16, 2009

From the page of Answers.com, this article provides explanations and definitions of software and links to other definitions and types of software, where a discussion of system software is included.

Software Tutorial: What is System Software?
http://depts.alverno.edu/cil/mod1/software/system.html
[Retrieved March 15, 2010

This is a part of the ALVERNO College's Software Tutorial on the definition and discussion about System Software.

System Software
http://sunset.backbone.olemiss.edu/~misbook/sfsysfm.htm
[Retrieved March 11,2010

This is article defines what a systems software is and includes discussion of the three kinds of systems software. A definition of operating system and how the operating system uses memory is likewise discussed.

System Software
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/System_software
[Retrieved March 16, 2010

From Wikipedia, this article discusses the definition of system software, the important types and specific kinds of system software.

System Software
http://www.yourdictionary.com/computer/system-software
[Retrieved March 18, 2009

From Computer Desktop Encyclopedia, this article contains the definition of system software and presents a diagram that shows the flow between system software and application software

Software System Components
http://www.osdata.com/system/system.htm
Retrieved March 18, 2010]

From OSdata.com, this article presents the three major components of computer system and the seven layers of software. It includes links and discussion on the components of a software system.


Should you have comments or suggestions on this pathfinders, please call us at these telephone numbers, 536-0244, 524-4611 local 620 or email us through "Ask LORA".

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip