This is the "Home" page of the "Robotics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Robotics  

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2015 URL: http://libguides.dlsu.edu.ph/content.php?pid=493295 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Title

Robotics

 

Scope Note

This webliography consists of articles, researches, web pages, web resources, and video lectures on Robotics. Robotics is the engineering science and technology of robots, and their design, manufacture, and application. Robotics is related to electronics, mechanics, and software.
Source:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robotics

 

Internet Sites

Pinoy Team Qualifies for World Robotics Championships Final 
http://www.abs-cbnnews.com/nation/youth/03/30/09/pinoy-team-qualifies-world-robotics-championships-final 
[Retrieved Aaugust 07, 2009]

"An article about the "Team Lagablab" of the Philippine Science High School (PSHS) Main Campus which was awarded as the Rookie All Star Award at the conclusion of the NASA/BAE Systems FIRST in Hawaii Regional Robotics Competition concluded last March 28, 2009 at the University of Hawaii at Manoa Stan Sheriff Center."

Lagablab Labuyo : First Robotics Competition Team 3015 
http://roboweb3105.webs.com/index.html
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

"This is the website of the FRC Team 3105 which is dedicated to provide inside scoop on the happenings of the first Philippine team to participate FIRST (Foundation for the Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) Robotics Competition. It contains links to the robot timeline and general info blog."

Mobile Robotics Laboratory : University of the Philippines
http://www.upd.edu.ph/~mobotlab/
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

"This is the homepage of Mobile Robotics Laboratory of the University of the Philippines. The laboratory is mainly concerned with research on mobile robots as intelligent agents."

RP hosts 2010 World Robot Olympiad
http://goodnewspilipinas.com/?p=6000
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

An article from GoodNews Pilipinas that cites the Philippines will host in 2010 World Robot Olympiad for the first time. Robots of all shapes and sizes from at least 30 countries will try to outsmart and outclass each other during the prestigious international competition.

Accurate Rough Terrain Estimation with Space-Carving Kernels

http://www.ri.cmu.edu/pub_files/2009/6/rss09.pdf
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

Written by Raia Hadsell, J. Andrew Bagnell and Martial Hebert of the Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University, this article explains that "accurate terrain estimation is critical for autonomous offroad navigation. It presents that reconstruction of a 3D surface allows rough and hilly ground to be represented, yielding faster driving and better planning and control."

Addressing Pose Uncertainty in Manipulation Planning Using Task Space Regions
http://www.ri.cmu.edu/pub_files/2009/10/iros09.pdf
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

Written by Dmitry Berensony, Siddhartha S. Srinivasazy and James J. Kuffnery of the Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University and Intel Research Pittsburgh, this article presents an efficient approach to generating paths for a robotic manipulator that are collision-free and guaranteed to meet task specifications despite pose uncertainty."

Arrick Robotics : Robot Information Central
http://www.arrickrobotics.com/robots.html
[Retrieved June 02, 2009]

This page features a comprehensive source for robot information on the Internet. It contains links to automation, mobile robots and robot resources.

Carnegie Mellon : The Robotics Institute
http://www.ri.cmu.edu/
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

This is the homepage of the Robotics Institute of Carnegie Mellon University. It contains links about the Robotics Institute, its people (faculty, fellows and students), research, education, careers, news media and events.

Cooperative Control of a Multi-Robot :Team in a Firefighting Scenario
http://www.ri.cmu.edu/pub_files/2005/11/CMU-RI-TR-05-50.pdf
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

Elizabeth Liao of the Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University wrote this article which discusses "the latest technology in assisting firefighters who routinely encounter hazardous situations in their occupation. One plausible way of offering assistance without risking additional human lives is by deploying a robot team, equipped with various sensors, alongside a firefighter. She argued that while it is difficult for humans to function well in a smoke filled, high temperature environment, there are sensors available which are designed to operate in such conditions."

Evolution Trains Robot Teams
http://www.trnmag.com/Stories/2004/051904/Evolution_trains_robot_teams_051904.html
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

An article written by Kimberly Patch of the Technology Research News stating that evolutionary computing has been tapped to automatically program robots to perform tasks that humans don't know how to do, or tasks which humans don't know how to do well.

Five-fingered Robot Hand using Ultrasonic Motors and Elastic Elements
http://www.maeno.mech.keio.ac.jp/English/ICRA2005_yamano.pdf
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

This is the proceedings of the 2005 IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation held in Barcelona, Spain, April 2005 written by Ikuo Yamano and Takashi Maeno of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Keio University, Hiyoshi, Yokohama, Japan. In this article, a" five-fingered robot hand having almost an equal number of DOF to the human hand is developed. The robot hand is driven by a unique method using ultrasonic motors and elastic elements. The method makes use of restoring force as driving power in grasping objects, which enables the hand to perform stable and compliant grasping motion without power supply."

Imitation of Life: A History of the First Robots
http://www.cerebromente.org.br/n09/historia/turtles_i.htm
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

This is an article written by Dr. Renato M.E. Sabbatini,of the University of S�o Paulo, Brazil. It contains links to artificial life, the machina speculatrix of W. Grey Walter and his short biography, the definition of a robot, a description of intelligent robots and an answer to an inquiry if robots are "humans."

Introduction to Robotics
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yD3uBshJB0
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

This is a 58 minute lecture by Professor Oussama Khatib for Introduction to Robotics (CS223A) in the Stanford Computer Science Department. In the first lecture of the quarter, Professor Khatib provides an overview of the course."

Joint Robotics Program (JRP)-supported efforts at the Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center, San Diego
http://www.dtic.mil/cgi-bin/GetTRDoc?AD=ADA449449Location=U2doc=GetTRDoc.pdf
[Retrieved August 11, 2009]

This is an article written by Hoa G. Nguyen and H.R. Everett of the Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center, San Diego. �The Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center, San Diego (SSC San Diego) is conducting a number of robotics research, development, evaluation, fielding, and combat-support missions and projects in support of Joint Robotics Program (JRP) goals. These include: Man-Portable Robotic System, Unmanned Surface Vessel, Automatically Deployed Communication Relays, Autonomous UAV Mission System, Robotic Systems Pool, Family of Integrated Rapid Response Equipment, and the Technology Transfer project"

The Three Laws of Robotics
http://video.search.yahoo.com/video/play?p=roboticsb=21ei=UTF-8rd=r1meta=vc%3Dphfr=yfp-t-152fr2=tab-webtnr=20vid=0001527040120
[Retrieved August 11, 2009]

This page is a video presentation of Isaac Asimov�s three laws of Robotics."

The Robotics Alliance Project
http://robotics.nasa.gov/
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

The Robotics Alliance Project seeks to provide a clearinghouse of robotics-related educational materials. It contains links to find lessons, materials, and robotics education discussion forums."

Robot Diaries Interim Project Report: Development of a Technology Program for Middle School Girls
http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~illah/PAPERS/rdtechreport.pdf
[Retrieved August 11, 2009]

"Robot Diaries is a technology program for middle school girls of the Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. This report provides a summary of the first and second years of the Robot Diaries project and a description of how the lessons learned from these two years are guiding the third year of the project."

Robotics Research Group 
http://www.robots.ox.ac.uk/
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

This is the homepage of Robotics Research Group, Department of Engineering Science, University of Oxford which provides links to six research groups such as: Active Vision; Visual Geometry; Wolfson Medical Vision Lab; Pattern Analysis & Machine Learning; Microelectronic Circuits and Analogue Devices; and Mobile Robotics."

Robotics: Sensing, Thinking, Acting
http://www.thetech.org/robotics/
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

This page includes links to history and workings of robotics, robot art, machines and man discussing robotics and ethics in the 21st century. "

Time-extended Multi-robot Coordination for Domains with Intra-path Constraints
http://www.ri.cmu.edu/pub_files/2009/7/p35.pdf
[Retrieved August 07, 2009]

Written by E. Gil Jones, M. Bernardine Dias and Anthony Stentz of the Robotics Institute and Carnegie Mellon University, �this work focuses on multi-agent coordination for disaster response with intra-path constraints, a compelling application that is not well addressed by current coordination methods."


Should you have comments or suggestions on this pathfinders, please call us at these telephone numbers, 536-0244, 524-4611 local 620 or email us through "Ask LORA".

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip