This webliography consists of articles and/or web documents, researches, web pages, and web resources on reproductive health. Reproductive Health (RH) is defined as "a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being, and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity."
Adolescent Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights
This article talks about Ipas' commitment in advocating adolescent sexual and reproductive health and rights (ASRHR). The organization emphasizes that adolescents have the "right to obtain factual information and to comprehend all phases of their development, including their sexual development". The article also reflects Ipas' vision of adolescents being freed from any sexual and reproductive health problems and that "they will be able to exercise age-appropriate decision making and will be equipped to make healthy choices now and in the future". Ipas' plan of action urging both governmental and non-governmental organizations to support the adolescents' SRHR welfare is also detailed in this article.
Banking on Reproductive Health: the World Bank's Support for Population, the Cairo Agenda and the Millennium Development Goals
This is a report that reviews the World Bank's involvement in advancing "population and reproductive health in light of new health priorities facing the millennium". The data contained in this document were taken from interviews of current and former staff of the World Bank, NGOs and bilateral and multilateral donors.
Better Health for Women and Families: the World Bank's Reproductive Health Action Plan 2010-2015
This document highlights the release of the World Bank's five-year Action Plan that targets "to help 57 countries with high maternal death and fertility rates improve their reproductive health services and prevent the widespread deaths of mothers and children". This new action plan features the Bank's instrumental role in improving reproductive health systems by introducing methods and strategies that could help avoid maternal deaths.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Division of Reproductive Health
The CDC's Division of Reproductive Health is committed to its mission of promoting "optimal reproductive, maternal, and infant health and quality of life by influencing public policy, health care practice, community practices, and individual behaviors through scientific and programmatic expertise, leadership, and support". The website contains resources on the various aspects of RH, including full-text documents of their publications. An A to Z index is provided to facilitate easy access to the contents of the site.
Eight Lives: Stories of Reproductive Health
This document relates the tale of eight women who each puts a face to the challenges of poor reproductive health. The experiences of these women introduce one to the realities of an impaired health system, but in the end, their courage and commitment initiate change that prioritizes women and girls.
The Institute produces a wide range of resources on topics pertaining to sexual and reproductive health and is committed to advance sexual and reproductive health in the United States and worldwide through an interrelated program of social science research, policy analysis and public education. Guttmacher's website has free resources and publications on the areas of RH.
How Universal is Access to Reproductive Health: a Review of the Evidence
Ensuring universal access to reproductive health was the central theme of the 1994 International Conference on Population and Development (ICPD) and the 2007 Millennium Development Goals (MDG). This report goes back to this theme once more as it "looks at current data, trends and disparities in universal access to reproductive health, the second target of Millennium Development Goal 5".
Ibis Reproductive Health
The Ibis conducts original clinical and social science research, leverages existing research, produces educational resources, and promotes policies and practices that support sexual and reproductive rights and health. Its website features a directory of links on education and advocacy organizations, research organizations, medical groups and professional organizations, and more. It also has a list of publications that may be downloaded freely or requested from the publisher.
Improving Reproductive Health in the Philippines
With the acceptance of Filipino women's roles in the various aspects of society, their lives have significantly changed over time. This report was put together to "increase awareness of, and attention to, Filipino women's health care needs by highlighting key changes in their reproductive health and the factors that influence it". It also calls for the policymakers and other concerned groups to be proactive in promoting the reproductive health of Filipino women.
Improving Reproductive Health: UNFPA
The United Nations Population Fund is an international development agency that promotes the right of every woman, man and child to enjoy a life of health and equal opportunity. The website contains UNFPA key publications, news and links on reproductive health.
Investing in Our Future: a Framework for Accelerating Action for the Sexual and Reproductive Health of Young People
This document features a framework that calls for action towards the protection and promotion of the sexual and reproductive health needs of the young people. The framework is also intended to guide policymakers and programme managers to be about their commitment to provide for the sexual and reproductive health needs to the young people.
IPPF: International Planned Parenthood Federation
IPPF is a global service provider and a leading advocate of sexual and reproductive health and rights for all. The website features resources and information directories on reproductive health.
Philippines: Reproductive Health Advocacy
This report is a product of the Reproductive health advocacy in the Philippines project of the Family Planning Organization of the Philippines (FPOP). Its purpose is to make Filipino women aware of and exercise their right to make informed choices regarding their sexual and reproductive health.
Population Action International
Population Action International uses research and advocacy to improve access to family planning and reproductive health care across the world. The PAI website has resources, downloadable publications and links on reproductive health and other allied topics.
Religion and Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights: An Inventory of Organizations, Scholars, and Foundations
Religion indeed plays a key role in influencing one's mindset on her sexual and reproductive health and rights. This study was conducted by the Center for Health and Social Policy in order to find out which organizations and key players are working along the intersecting lines of religion and sexual and reproductive health and rights.
Reproductive Health Assessment Toolkit for Conflict-Affected Women
This toolkit was developed and can be used for the quantitative assessment of reproductive health risks, services, and outcomes in conflict-affected women between 15 and 49 years of age.
Reproductive Health at a Glance
This article provides information about reproductive health (RH) at first glance. It explains what RH is all about, the benefits of reproductive health interventions, the costs of reproductive health care, tips on how to improve one's RH, and the do's and don'ts of RH.
Reproductive Health Journal
As the official journal of the Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research (GFMER), the Reproductive Health provides open access to all of its published articles. Authors are encouraged to submit a manuscript of their work for possible publication. The journal is indexed by PubMed, PubMed Central, CAS, EMBASE, Scopus and Google Scholar.
RH Reality Check
Created by the United Nations Foundation, this site is a comprehensive blog featuring news and analysis of sexual and reproductive health issues. RH Reality Check has empowered the public and policy makers with the information and resources they need to make informed decisions on sexual and reproductive health issues.
Sexual and Reproductive Health for All: Reducing Poverty, Advancing Development and Protecting Human Rights
This report provides information about the universal access to reproductive health, its importance, how far it has come along, and where it is headed. It also stands by the RH agenda that by ensuring sexual and reproductive health for all, human rights is respected.
The WHO Strategic Approach to Strengthening Sexual and Reproductive Health Policies and Programmes
The Strategic Approach involves a three-stage process for assisting countries to assess reproductive health needs and priorities, test policies and programme adaptations to address these needs, and then scale up successful interventions. It has also been adapted for a range of sexual and reproductive health issues. This document details the methods and composition of this approach.
Who Uses Reproductive Health Services in the Philippines (And Who Doesn't)?
The shortage of information regarding the accessibility of reproductive health services in the Philippines prompted researchers to take action so that policymakers, program managers and others concerned can come up with strategies in response to the reproductive health needs of the country. This document details the profile of the reach of health services, the role of the private and public sectors and service providers, and finally some policy recommendations.
Youth Coalition is an international organization of young people (ages 15-29 years) committed to promoting adolescent and youth sexual and reproductive rights at the national, regional and international levels. The YC website contains resources on sexual and reproductive health, including its publications and partner links.
Should you have comments or suggestions on this pathfinders, please call us at these telephone numbers, 536-0244, 524-4611 local 620 or email us through "Ask LORA".
Compiled by : Christine Abrigo
Date : February 2011