This is the "Home" page of the "Open Knowledge" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Open Knowledge  

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2015 URL: http://libguides.dlsu.edu.ph/content.php?pid=493271 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Title

Open Knowledge

 

Scope Note

This webliography consists of articles, researches, web pages, and web resources on open access, open data and open knowledge. Open knowledge refers to "content that people are free to use, re-use and distribute without legal, technological or social restrictions".
Source : [http://okfn.org/]

 

Internet Sites

The Access Principle: the Case for Open Access to Research and Scholarship

The approach for open access, where the principle of extending the circulation of a scholarly work to reach as many interested researchers who may find it beneficial as possible, is translated as a commitment to research value. This e-book deals with the practicalities of digitizing scholarly journals and scholarly publishing in an open access environment.

Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities

This is a full document of the Berlin Declaration – a statement promoting open access to knowledge using the Internet as the key tool to liberate scientific knowledge to the world.

Changes Coming for Open Access to Research in Europe

The article talks about the move to open the flood gates of information in Europe, as the European Commission (EC) has in the pipeline a proposal for open access to research and scientific knowledge sharing. Issues concerning the said move, especially on the part of Europe's taxpayers and the major scientific publishers are put forward here.

The Open Access Movement: Opportunities and Challenges for Developing Countries: Let Them Live in Interesting Times

This article, as best described by the author, deals with the "impact of the Internet on scientific communication and research, focusing on how the information and communication technologies (ICTs) have affected the publishing sector and given rise to new models of knowledge distribution (such as Open Access) in science". The challenges and opportunities, as well as the unintended negative consequences, of the open access movement in the case of developing countries are also tackled here.

Open Access to Knowledge and Information: Scholarly Literature and Digital Library Initiatives: The South Asian Scenario

This document is anchored to the UNESCO's move to promote open access to knowledge and information, discussing the successful scholarly activities, literature and documentary heritage of the South Asia subregion, and making these openly accessible to the world.

The Open Data Handbook

True to its form as a handbook, this resource contains information about the legal, social and technical aspects of open data. It discusses practically everything about the topic in such a way that the handbook is designed to be understood by those who would want to learn more about open data.

Open, Free Access to Academic Research? This Will Be A Seismic Shift

This article works on the premise that by opening up access to academic research and information, more and more people will be empowered with scientific knowledge that will pave the way to economic and social progress. The issues being faced in line with such effort is discussed here.

Open Knowledge and the Public Interest (OKAPI)

This resource blog site was put together by a group of faculty, students and staff of the University of California Berkeley, where open knowledge is promoted at Berkeley, and which extends to the general public around the world. It features news articles on open knowledge and shares the various projects initiated by the group. The OKAPI is being sponsored by the Office of the Chief Information Officer and is largely supported by co-advocate/partner organizations and grant-funded initiatives.

The Open Knowledge Foundation: Open Data Means Better Science

The Open Data in Science is a working group of the Open Knowledge Foundation that adheres to the advocacy that the more data is made openly accessible, the greater benefit the society will derive it from, and that more and more scientific information will be reproduced. The article focuses on the definition of open knowledge and the Panton principles for open data in science.

The Open Research Society (ORS)

This website of the ORS (an NGO) is portal to different resources on open knowledge, as it provides free access to scientific research to all. It contains a collection of journals pertaining to open knowledge as treated on different fields of research and other important articles and development on open research.

Opening Access to Knowledge in Southern African Universities

This study series of the Southern African Regional Universities Association (SARUA) highlights the opportunities, key constraints as well as the challenges for opening access to knowledge, scholarly communication and research publishing in Southern African universities.

Proceedings of the 6th Open Knowledge Conference, Berlin, Germany, June 30 & July 1, 2011

This website contains links to all the papers – full, short and abstracts – presented at the 6th Open Knowledge Conference (OKCon) that was held in Berlin, Germany on 30 June 30 to 01 July 2011. Topics cover a variety of issues and initiatives in the area of open knowledge. The OKCon brings together individuals and organizations who advocate the cause of opening up access to information.

Unchartered Waters: the State of Open Data in Europe

This study series reports "the current state of the open data policy ecosystem and open government data offerings in nine European Member States." With the global reach of the open data movement, government agencies in Europe are now faced with the challenge of opening up as much data and making these as accessible online to all as possible. A look into the fulfillment of the open data principles is underlined here.

The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository

In line with the World Bank's Open Access Policy, which took off in 01 July 2012, comes the Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) -- a digital repository of the Bank's intellectual outputs and knowledge products that are made freely available and open for access to the general public. The OKR covers thousands of research works, including the Bank's flagship publications, academic books, reports, policy papers, journals and annual reports. Content is regularly updated.


Should you have comments or suggestions on this weblioGRAPHY, please call us at these telephone numbers, 536-0244, 524-4611 local 620 or email us through "Ask LORA".

Compiled by: Christine M. Abrigo
Date: April 2012

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip