Skip to main content

Philippine Business Tycoons: Home

Title

Philippine Business Tycoons

Scope Note

This webliography consists of selected biographical websites and web pages and articles about Chinese and Filipino business tycoons.

Internet Sites

Tony Tan Caktiong
http://primer.com.ph/business/2017/03/07/success-story-tony-tan-caktiong-of-jollibee-group/
[Retrieved April 3, 2019]

This article contains a description of Tony Tan Caktiong's early business activities until his success in making Jollibee as the number one fast food chain in the country. It also includes an account of his achievements and awards for his tremendous success in entrepreneurship.

Eduardo Cojuangco Jr. 
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eduardo_Cojuangco_Jr.
[Retrieved March 16, 2009]

This site provides a brief political and business account of Eduardo Cojuangco, Jr. It also contains a short description of his advocacy in sports.

Jaime Zobel De Ayala
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jaime_Zobel_de_Ayala
[Retrieved April 3, 2019]

This site contains a brief account of Jaime Zobel de Ayala's education, business and social life. It also includes a short report about photography as his hobby and his legacy and honors.

http://www.forbes.com/lists/2006/10/EGES.html
[Retrieved February 19, 2009]

This page contains a short personal account of Jaime Zobel de Ayala and a distribution map of his properties by residence.

Andrew Gotianun
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andrew_Gotianun
[Retrieved April 3, 2019]

From East-West Bank corporate information, this article describes Andrew Gotianun's diversified business ventures from second hand car financing up to his real estate and banking activities.

John Gokongwei Jr.
http://www.jgsummit.com.ph/speech-jgkw-ateneo-som-20020301.html
[Retrieved April 3, 2019]

This article is about the struggle of John Gokongwei Jr. where he describe his life from riches to rags to riches. 

Enrique Razon Jr.
https://www.ictsi.com/leadership-team/EKR
[Retrieved April 3, 2019]

This site provides a brief business account of Enrique Razon Jr. 

Henry Sy
http://primer.com.ph/business/2015/12/27/success-story-henry-sy-sr/
[Retrieved April 3, 2019]

This page contains Henry Sy's success story as Philippines’ Richest Man.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henry_Sy
[Retrieved February 20, 2009]

With cited references, this page from Wikipedia, contains a short description of Henry Sy's business activities, investments and accomplishments as one of the most richest tycoons in the Philippines.

Andrew Tan
https://ifranchise.ph/andrew-tan-life-and-success-story/
[Retrieved April 3, 2019]

This site contains life of Andrew Tan from his early childhood, his education and employment as a hardworking and conscientious employee until his success as the biggest condo and estate developer. It also includes an account of his accomplishment as owner of the world's number one selling brandy.

http://investing.businessweek.com/businessweek/research/stocks/people/person.asp?personId=11540593&ric=AGI.PS
[Retrieved July 15, 2009]

This site contains an executive profile of Andrew Tan provided by the Alliance Global Group Inc. (AGI: Philippine Stock Exchange) of Business Week.

Lucio Tan
http://www.forbes.com/lists/2006/10/FQVX.html
[Retrieved February 20, 2009]

This page consists of short personal information about Lucio Tan and his business activities. It also includes distribution map of his properties by residence.

https://www.britannica.com/biography/Lucio-Tan
[Retrieved April 3, 2019]

This page contains a short narrative of his early life and business activities, from his creation of diverse conglomerates to taking control of Philippine Airlines.

George Ty
https://www.bworldonline.com/the-journey-of-tycoon-and-philanthropist-george-ty/
[Retrieved April 3, 2019]

This article entitled "The journey of tycoon and philanthropist George Ty" describes George Ty's business and philanthropic activities. It includes several awards and recognition received. It also includes the time of his passing.

Manny Villar
http://www.senate.gov.ph/senators/sen_bio/villar_bio.asp
[Retrieved February 20, 2009]

From the Senate of the Philippines, this page provides an account of Manny Villar's early life, education, accomplishments and political activities.

Alfonso Yuchengco
https://pjsmedalofmerit.wordpress.com/2015/01/09/alfonso-t-yuchengco/
[Retrieved April 3, 2019]

This site contains a brief account of Alfonso Yuchengco's education, business interests, academic and diplomatic achievements, socio civic affairs and awards and citations received.

https://www.manilatimes.net/tycoon-par-excellence/507287/
[Retrieved April 3, 2019]

This article contains Ambassador Alfonso Yuchenco's family history, early education and business success. It also describes how he was as a founder, banker, chairman and philanthropist.

 

 

Updated by: Vivian C. Soriente                                                                                                                                                                               Date: April 3, 2019