Skip to main content

Mechatronics: Home

Title

Mechatronics

Scope Note

This webliography consists of articles, web pages, web resources and video lectures on Mechatronics.

Internet Sites

DesignNews.org
[Retrieved March 25, 2019]

"Design News  owns the largest trusted community of design engineers in the horizontal engineering space. Coverage at Design News is based on four key pillars, which are the backbone of just about every design project: Electronics & Test, Automation & Control, Materials & Assembly, and Design Hardware & Software. A few of the application areas popular with Design News readers include consumer electronics, automotive, medical, industrial controls, and military/aerospace/defense.

Design News provides a channel for two-way communications amongst the engineering community. The content can take the form of design application articles, blogs, product teardowns, webinars, and so forth.  Design News  is also the leader in online education".
 

DLR Institute of Robotics and Mechatronics 
[Retrieved June 02, 2009]

"A searchable homepage of Institute of Robotics and Mechatronics, a research institute regarded as one of the worldwide leading institutions in the field of robotics."

Mechatronics 
[Retrieved June 01, 2009]

"A video lecture which explains Mechatronics as a dynamic field that changes daily with the rapid improvements in technology and computer systems."

How to Mechatronics
[Retrieved March 25, 2019]

"The homepage of San Diego State University Mechatronics laboratory which contains links to experiments such as hydraulics, pneumatics, power transmission, a miniature elevator, and a 10-foot high scale model roller coaster; and other resources to related Mechatronics links."

How to Mechatronics (YouTube)
[Retrieved March 25, 2019]

"Official YouTube channel of HowToMechatronics.com, an educational website in the area of Mechatronics.

Arduino Projects and Tutorials, DIY Projects, How It Works, Electronics, Tips & Tricks, Arduino Source Codes, Circuit Schematics, Download files and much more can be found at www.HowToMechatronics.com"

How to Mechatronics (Facebook page)
[Retrieved March 25, 2019]

This is the official Facebook page of How to Mechatronics, an educational website in the area of Mechatronics. 

Mechatronics Definition
[Retrieved June 01, 2009]

"HowToMechatronics is an education website in the area of Mechanical, Electrical and Computer Engineering. Tutorials, Tips, Tricks, How It Works, Projects, Examples, Source Codes, Download files and much more can be found here".

Mechatronics--An Experience at IIT Delhi
[Retrieved June 01, 2009]

This article is a lecture note on Mechatronics during a workshop on Mechatronics at the National Institute of Technology, Nagpur, Maharastra on January 03, 2005 written by Dr. S.K. Saha, Associate Professor of the Department of Mechanical Engineering IIT Delhi, Hauz Khas, New Delhi where he discussed his experience in establishing the Mechatornics Laboratory at IIT, Delhi in 2001.

Mechatronics Industrial Equipment
[Retrieved March 25, 2019]

"A Company established to provide one stop TOTAL SOLUTION for low cost Industrial Automation.

Over the years Mechatronics has strengthened its operation by providing critical Turnkey solutions in pneumatics, hydraulic, electrical and electronics applications. Compressed air piping system that delivers quality air exactly where you need it, from compressor to the point of use. We have always been customer oriented by way of exhaustive & comprehensive Spare parts Inventory and knowledge sharing by way of training customer representatives.
 
Mechatronics has been practiced to provide  solutions at Customer doorstep and effective after sales service backed by state-of-the-art Sales, Service  and Training Center"....
 

Mechatronic Research and Development
[Retrieved June 02, 2009]

This article contains detailed explanations of Mechatronics and its roots. It also includes new related field of technology on Biomechatronics.

Mechatronics Research Group
[Retrieved June 01, 2009]

This is the homepage of the Holywell Mechatronics Research Centre (MRC), a specialist resource of the Wolfson School of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering at Loughborough University. It provides links to its overview, facilities, activities, research projects, Knowledge Transfer Partnerships (KTP), international activities, poster gallery and events.

Mechatronics Resources on the World Wide Web
[Retrieved June 01, 2009]

This page provides links to Mechatronics resources based in Europe, America, Asia/Australia and New Zealand.

Mechatronics Working Group
[Retrieved June 01, 2009]

This is the website of Mechatronics Working Group which serves as a forum focusing on all aspects of Mechatronics within the mechanical engineering framework. It contains links on what Mechatronics is all about and information to anyone who wants to become Mechatronics engineer. Links to UK Universities which offer postgraduate and undergraduate degrees are provided.

PLC Training Org.
[Retrieved March 25, 2019]

"This site is to organize a best in class PLC training approach and offer related resources. A learning path to becoming a PLC expert. As industrial control evolves, so will this site to always offer best practices in PLC training"....

Robotics and Mechatronics - From Space to Surgery and the Virtual World
[Retrieved June 01, 2009]

This is a video net lecture conducted by Gerd Hirzinger of the Institute of Robotics and Mechatronics, German Aerospace Center. He briefly emphasizes the importance of Mechatronics for future societies and comments on the development and evolvement of industrial robots over the past 20 years. He emphasizes the importance of Mechatronic concepts and sensory feed-back for more precision and autonomy in the future.

The Engineering Design Process​
[Retrieved March 25, 2019]

"The engineering design process is a series of steps that engineers follow to come up with a solution to a problem. Many times the solution involves designing a product (like a machine or computer code) that meets certain criteria and/or accomplishes a certain task. This process is different from the Steps of the Scientific Method, which you may be more familiar with. If your project involves making observations and doing experiments, you should probably follow the Scientific Method. If your project involves designing, building, and testing something, you should probably follow the Engineering Design Process". ...

Carnegie Mellon University: The Robotics Institute
[Retrieved March 25, 2019]

"The Robotics Institute at Carnegie Mellon University was established in 1979 to conduct basic and applied research in robotics technologies relevant to industrial and societal tasks. Seeking to combine the practical and the theoretical, the Robotics Institute has diversified its efforts and approaches to robotics science while retaining its original goal of realizing the potential of the robotics field. The facility includes approximately 100,000 square feet at the main Pittsburgh campus, another 100,000 square feet at the National Robotics Engineering Center in Lawrenceville and 7,000 square feet and 40 acres of testing fields at Robot City, the Field Robotics test site in Hazelwood".

Types of Engineering Degrees 
[Retrieved March 25, 2019]

"TypesofEngineeringDegrees.org started out as a small personal research project in 2011, with no intention of being developed further. While the information on the site has been published on the web for some time it was mainly for personal use. After realizing the site was receiving visitors (fairly regularly), we felt it was worth developing into a resource that could be useful to anyone considering an engineering degree. The articles are written to be informative but not overly formal in the hope this provides an easy-to-digest resource for anyone interested in engineering.

There are many types of engineering degrees available and many different paths your career can take based on your initial choice of degree. For many this can be a difficult decision. Our hope is the information presented on the site can play a small role in helping you to decide on the engineering degree that best suits you".
 
Video Demonstration of Mechatronics
[Retrieved March 25, 2019]
 
Contains video clips which illustrate various mechatronics and measurement system principles and devices.
 

What mechatronic engineers do​?
[Retrieved March 25, 2019]

The official page of The University of New South Wales where they describe career opportunities for Mechatronic engineers.

 


Should you have comments or suggestions on this pathfinders, please call us at these telephone numbers, 536-0244, 524-4611 local 620 or email us through "Ask LORA".

Compiled by: Ms. Marita G. Valerio

Updated by: May L. Cajes
Date: March 25, 2019